Made with Love

I have never fancied myself as a chef…at all.  Although I have watched several episodes of Top Chef, I would never be considered on their level, however, I do have one thing in common with some of those chefs:  I cook with love.  When my boys Solomon and Emmett bake with me good things happen.  Sometimes we make things like cakes, cupcakes, chocolate Easter nests, muffins, and chocolate chip orange zucchini bread (below).

zucchini bread

Walking into the house filled with delicious aromas from the oven warms my heart and my soul.  What is even better is knowing that every minute spent is time well spent, time making memories, time encouraging them to be able to some day cook a meal, maybe woo someone with their skills. Baking (or cooking) teaches us how to read, how to use those mathematical skills, how to share, how to take turns, and feel the joy of being silly together.  There is a sense of satisfaction when a finished product comes out of the oven and we did it, together we did it.  And I especially love it when the boys say, “hey mom can we make something?”

All this talk of food and cooking reminds me of Lent, Ash Wednesday to be specific.  I think about how we received our ashes last night, the sign of the cross on our foreheads and the tangible reminder that it isn’t about us.  “Remember that you are dust, and to dust you shall return.”  Ash Wednesday reminded me that our lives, our thoughts, our words, and our deeds are, or should be, about God.  Baked with love, food shows my love of God through my love of my family, what a blessing to make and break bread together.

About dminrevapril

I am a pastor in the Presbyterian Church (USA), who loves writing, reading, running, spending time with my family, and trying to make the world a better place.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment