Stopping to smell the…

Compared to winters past, this year in Minnesota has been, dare I say it, fairly mild.  Sure it’s been cold here and there, and some snow here and there, but I remember reading that we have received roughly 18 inches less snow this year than last, so I guess I didn’t really need those new snow tires as urgently as I was told.  Well, I would have needed new tires eventually right?  What I’m most excited about with the mild winter is the fact that I have tulips starting to peek through the bark mulch in the front yard.  The sight of the green reminds me that yes spring will come but also that I have to take the time to stop and smell or appreciate the flowers.  Here is one such flower I stopped to appreciate.

flower from Hawaii

 

This Bird of Paradise flower greeted me as I was going on a run a few weeks back (clearly not in Minnesota) and I was so struck by its luminescence that I was overwhelmed.  God created this amazingly beautiful flower to remind us of God’s creative abilities, but also to remind us how much God cares for us.  We are so cared for that beauty and radiance is put into our lives to be savored, cherished and enchanted by; a constant reminder of how much we are loved and a reminder that we need to not sweat the small stuff and instead stop and be present to the world around us.  I choose to stop and observe the world around me, I hope you choose it too.

About dminrevapril

I am a pastor in the Presbyterian Church (USA), who loves writing, reading, running, spending time with my family, and trying to make the world a better place.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

