My new pants

label 2

I find myself thinking I should have a purpose statement for my blog.  I don’t know why exactly, perhaps it is because someone recently asked what sort of things I write about and I responded that it is really about the intersection between life and faith or spirituality and religion.  I call my blog “Musings from Minnesota” or “Musings from the Monastery” because it is really about my observations on life, faith, work, family, friends, travel, and whatnot.  My most recent spiritual director, Annie helped reawaken my need for paying attention, so in some very many ways every entry to my blog is a little tribute to her.

At any rate.  One time I was having a working lunch with a small group of presbytery people when I noticed one of the people had blue hands.  I tried to ignore it but eventually my curiosity got the better of me, so I, of course, had to ask about it.  Well we finally figured out that it was from wearing new unwashed jeans and the color was transferring.

Fast forward nine months later when I just received a pair of blue corduroy pants in the mail and the above tag was attached.  Immediately I texted my friend because I has having a giggle of time recalling the lunch.  However, more importantly, all I could think of was the Holy Spirit being an allegory for the dye, or perhaps more broadly God’s love.  Regardless of how many washings or how much care the fabric is attended to, it will transfer, it is inevitable. What’s sort of cool is that  there will always be a remnant, a residual amount of dye present, when you least expect it, there it is, it will show up transferred to some other fabric and you will sound like Homer Simpson, “Doh!”  Yet you will be comforted by the fact that even though you sometimes feel distant from God, God’s love was still present, a gentle reminder that you are loved.  Sure it might be slightly heretical to consider God’s love as the dye in my comfortable new pants, but the reminder of God’s love and grace always surrounding me and rubbing off of me onto to other people, is well, amazing, it is amazing grace.

About dminrevapril

I am a pastor in the Presbyterian Church (USA), who loves writing, reading, running, spending time with my family, and trying to make the world a better place.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My new pants

Leave a Reply

