Every journey starts with a single step

What began in early October of 2016 was not just my excitement to run my second marathon, but a journey of an entirely different caliber. My dad was visiting from Nebraska to see me run that marathon however fate would intervene and he would not see me finish the marathon, but he would be in the right place at the right place for the life-saving medical attention he so desperately needed.  I don’t want to tell his story without his permission, so I am briefly sharing my perspective.  After he had emergency surgery for a ruptured AAA, he spent 77 days on the campus of Regions Hospital in St. Paul.  I visited him daily, I live in Stillwater, a mindless 20.4 mile drive to the hospital.  Between work and the hospital and the kids and the dog, etc it was all rather taxing.  When expressing his appreciation, I told him that life is supposed to be about; showing up, if someone needs me I show up.  It’s what you do.

122517-dad

This is us outside the hospital before we hit the road on 12.25.16

After worship on Christmas morning, I drove from Hastings to St. Paul to take my dad home to Nebraska.  It was the culmination of 77 days of care, therapy and hard work.  We were undeterred by the 50 mile-an-hour winds and the torrential rains because driving to Nebraska was the next step of his journey, of our journey.  Every day he gets stronger.  Every day is a gift.

About dminrevapril

I am a pastor in the Presbyterian Church (USA), who loves writing, reading, running, spending time with my family, and trying to make the world a better place.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Every journey starts with a single step

  1. Rosemary Lamberson says:

    So glad Reynolds is on the road to recovery. You just can’t keep a good man down. Stay strong Reynolds.

Leave a Reply

