Nearly blown away

Recently I was out running on a breezy September morning with my faithful dog Sunny.  By all accounts it was just a normal run, one with a good pace and a mild temperature, maybe even a little foggy so early in the morning.  Then this amazing thing happened, as they so often do, the leaf in this picture literally was blown into my hand, as in one minute my hands were empty and the next minute there was a leaf in my hand.  You should know that it would not be remotely out of character for me to pick up a beautiful leaf to show my kids, because I am regularly in awe of God’s glorious creation, but that was not what happened.  This leaf, this exact leaf which I hold in my hand in the above picture, was blown by the wind into my hand, I probably couldn’t have grabbed for it even if I wanted.

And why am I sharing this with you?  Good question.  I think I’m sharing this because there are times when God is so adamantly attempting to get our attention that we really, really, need to stop and look around. I love the world around me and I spend probably more than a normal about of time noticing things happening around me, and I fancy myself as a reasonably self-aware person, but that doesn’t necessarily mean I don’t need redirection periodically.  As a type A personality, I regularly think bout what’s next, not worrying exactly,  just being deliberate about the stewardship of my time.

My take away?  If God drops a leaf into your hand, your best bet is to stop, just stop, and savor, because the moment may not come again.

About dminrevapril

I am a pastor in the Presbyterian Church (USA), who loves writing, reading, running, spending time with my family, and trying to make the world a better place.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

